Her death was initially reported by TMZ, which this morning updated the story to add the information that Chief Deputy Chad Brooks at the Pickens County Sheriff’s Office suspects that Hicks died from a drug overdose. The singer-songwriter was discovered in a bathroom at the home of a friend, where drugs and paraphernalia were found. She was pronounced dead at the scene. Hicks’ mom, Jodi, had also shared with TMZ that her daughter had struggled with mental health issues and substance abuse. She had been arrested in 2017 and 2018 for assaulting family members while drunk and underage drinking. Hicks’ death was posted on Facebook by her younger sister Breelyn Hicks, who wrote: “Monday night December 6th, 2021 will be a day I’ll never be able to  forget. My sister, Skilyr Hicks passed away. My super beautiful, extremely talented, hilarious, free spirit of a sister left this world to be with Jesus. I can’t possibly put into words how broken-hearted I am. I will miss her like crazy. I’ll miss her voice, her long warm hugs, her constantly making jokes using puns. Her ability to create music that inspired thousands of people. She had so much life left to live. Skilyr, I don’t know how I’ll be able to live without you. You were a light that shown brighter than ever. You were my best friend, you were my rock. We always had each other’s back no matter what. Just know that I love you unconditionally, That you will live on in our hearts, minds, memories, and through your God Given Musical Ability. Your Songs are your legacy. Fly High, Little Bird. I love you soo much. Love Always, Your Bree.” For her America’s Got Talent audition, Hicks sang an original song “Second Chance.” She told judges Howard Stern, Mel B, Heidi Klum and Howie Mandel that she had turned to music following the death of her father and that was when she wrote her first song. Mandel told her, “Imagine there is someplace that your father is watching you and is just glowing with pride.” Hicks made it through to the next round of the competition but was later eliminated during the live rounds by America’s vote. Next, Gone Too Soon! Here’s Every American Idol Singer Who Has Died Since Competing

Skilyr Hicks Death  America s Got Talent Contestant Dead at 23 - 85